the great tidy-up began today

I’ve had to put things on hold a bit here as I’ve embarked on something that is long over-due.  The great big tidy-up.

I’m a hoarder – I come from a family of hoarders – and this hoarding has never been put in check.  Now it’s got out of hand and I need to be ruthless.  So while I only work 2 days a week I’m using the rest of the time to sort my crap out.

Today I started on the worst offender – my study.  It’s always been the ‘junk room’ where things get dumped and lost.  It’s going to be a longer and bigger job than I originally thought.  I had to reign myself in from saving old envelopes because I could create gorgeousness from them like these:

Security Envelope Tags by The Felt Mouse

Security Envelope Tags by The Felt Mouse

Security Envelope Buttons by The Workroom

Security Envelope Buttons by The Workroom

Beads by JPolka

Beads by JPolka

Beautiful Art - by ClumsyBird

Beautiful Art - by ClumsyBird

However it was my wardrobe where I was having my biggest fight.  I find it so difficult to give away clothes, constantly thinking that ‘I will fit into that again one day’ or ‘I could alter that to make something better’.  However some items of clothes must leave my wardrobe and either head their merry way to a charity shop OR head their way into creating my new quilt.  I’ve decided that my big quilt will be my winter project.  A hodge-podge of colours and designs.  Large enough to fit our super-king size bed.  I’m not going for a complicated pattern for my first proper quilt – just a simple box design.  This pool on  Flickr is a great inspiration:    Reclaimed Fabric, Patchwork and Quilting

So I’ll try and blog in a few days with another tribute to some wonderful upcyclers.  I also have some new buys to share with you lovely people :) In the meantime keep recycling and being wonderfully creative!

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Patchwork/quilting

2 responses to “the great tidy-up began today

  1. I too believe everything happens for a reason and the road to the ‘aha’ moment sometimes winds for miles. I started out at flickr looking at collage sheets and ended up here. I have been saving those envelopes that have the patterned interiors for a few months now. I open the mail at work so it’s finders/keepers! I had not figured out what to do with the majority of them but now I know exactly what I’m going to do with them. Everything I do for a while will probably have patterned clouds, chimneys, houses, cars…something that can be fashioned with those envelopes. I am SO glad I came in here even though I should have been in bed hours ago. I love your contributions to flickr and am enjoying your blog too. Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

