tut tut

I had to buy something new today – but they were crafting materials so I don’t feel SO bad.  However, I will donate some books and clothes to a charity shop tomorrow to make up for my purchase of a glue gun and some vinyl.  Naughty naughty.  However I don’t feel so bad as I’m going to use them both in some upcycling projects.

As soon as I got home today I started on my vinyl record bag after seeing this on ThreadBanger:

Vinyl record bag

Vinyl record bag

(click on the image for the link)

I fell in love.  After all  – what could be more original than a bag made out of your favourite (or indeed tackiest) records?  So today, at lunchtime, I took myself off to the local charity shops and came back with a few second hand records – Engelbert Humperdink, Prince and Val Doonican 🙂  What more could a girl love on her bag?  As soon as I got in, I put my husband to work on burning the holes through the vinyl, which resulted in a lot of swearing and burned fingers 🙂  Since then I’ve decided to ‘go it alone’ on the design of the bag.  Rather than try to follow any tutorials I’ve found (most are for smaller bags with the record cut in half) I’ve decided to see how I get on.  So far it’s not going great, but this is a first try.  I did hope to finish the bag tonight however my back is really hurting, and I don’t fancy leaning over a sewing machine tonight.

Tomorrow my first ever record bag should be made and I will post it for you here 🙂

In the meantime here are some other vinyl bags that others have created.  As always, where there are photos, click on the photo to take you to their page.

These rock – Broken Record Designs are apparently the ‘original’ record purses – and I just LOVE that Pat Benatar one 🙂  However I’m not a huge fan of rivets etc.  I just think they look a bit ‘high street’ and less hand made.  There’s something ‘manufactured’ about them that I’m not keen on. They also have a ‘patent pending’ on their design – so beware of copying them (too much!).

The 45 by Luce Belanger

The 45 by Luce Belanger

This is a real old-school bag – apparently they’ve been around since the sixties – this idea of creating bags using records.  I really like this one – small and compact yet ultimately groovy! There’s nothing like an old 45 to make you feel a tad nostalgic!

I love the yellow on this and I’m really thinking carefully about the colours I choose for my vinyl record bags – I’m considering some gorgeous upcycled fake fur and velvet.

Album cover bag

Album cover bag

You have NO idea how much I LOVE this bag.  This album was one of my favourites as a child – I just loved how it opened up and you got the portraits of Karen and her brother.  Kind of creepy yet reminds me of my childhood.

I might try something similar when I finish the bag with the actual record.  I’m sure someone will LOVE an Engelbert Humperdink bag for Christmas!

Mighty Mighty Bosstones purse

Mighty Mighty Bosstones purse

Honestly – how freakin’ awesome is THIS bag? I absolutely love it.  SO groovy! 🙂

I’m getting so excited about creating my bag.  I know it’s not going to look so great as I’m not really using great material to make the bag itself (as this is a first go) – however I’m already thinking about what I want to hunt out in order to create my bag.  And yes … I will make sure that the material I use is either material I already own or upcycled.  That’s REALLY important to me at the moment – to not buy more material.

Wish me luck!

1 Comment

Filed under Bags, Upcycling

One response to “tut tut

  1. Hi there
    This is a bit confusing – I don’t actually really create any upcycled products to sell – so I guess I’m not the best choice for this?
    Polly

Leave a Reply

